About Us

Battle River Treaty 6 Health Centre is a First Nations owned and operated health services organization governed by a board comprised of Chiefs representing the BRT6HC member bands. Our purpose is to provide community based health services to promote, support, and encourage the physical, mental, social and spiritual health of the people living on Little Pine, Lucky Man, Mosquito, Moosomin, Sweetgrass and Poundmaker.

Battle River Treaty 6 Health Centre is nationally accredited by Accreditation Canada which assists us in identifying goals and objectives that will allow us deliver quality services to the people we serve. Services offered include a school-based dental program, a home-based headstart program, health promotion and planning, mental health and addictions counselling and support, youth outreach, home and community care, day care licensing and monitoring, environmental health, community health nursing,  maternal child health, Indian Residential School education and cultural support.

Battlefords Family Health Centre, a primary health care site, is located on the ground floor of the main building of BRT6HC, it offers physician services, nurse practitioner services, and a mental health counsellor. The BFHC is one of the many primary health services in Saskatchewan and is a partnership between BRT6HC, Prairie North Regional Health Authority and Sask Health. The clinic services are open to everyone. The BFHC is governed by the BRT6HC Board of Directors.

Also located on the main floor of the BRT6HC, next to the Battlefords Family Health Center, is the Sexual Health Clinic and the Circle of Learning. The Kids First Home Visiting Program provides urban services to children and families enrolled in that program.

The Hospital Liaison Worker works out of the local hospital  and is employed by BRT6HC. This worker sees all clients of First Nations ancestry to assist them in discharge planning, obtaining medical transportation, connecting clients to support services/agencies once discharged and translation.

The current Board of Directors are:

Little Pine First Nation- Chief Wayne Semaganis
Lucky Man First Nation-Chief Crystal Okemow
Poundmaker Cree Nation-Chief Duane Antoine
Sweetgrass First Nation - Lori Whitecalf